Great Seal of the State of Oklahoma

On this day in 1907, Indian Territory and Oklahoma Territory collectively enter the United States as Oklahoma, the 46th state. This made all Indians in the state U.S. citizens.

First, the name comes from the Choctaw Indian words “okla,” meaning people, and “humma,” meaning red.

Next, the five rays of the large star in the Great Seal of the State display the seals of the “Five Civilized Tribes.” The Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole all have a major presence due to the forced relocation of the early 1800s.

So, on September 17, 1907, representatives of both territories drafted a constitution, which was approved by voters from both territories.


As is often the case with state constitutions, the Preamble of the Constitution of the State of Oklahoma reads:

“Invoking the guidance of Almighty God, in order to secure and perpetuate the blessing of liberty; to secure just and rightful government; to promote our mutual welfare and happiness, we, the people of the State of Oklahoma, do ordain and establish this Constitution.”


Great Seal of the State of Oklahoma

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *